Sava River Basin

The Sava River Basin, is one of the “crown jewels” of the European nature. As the major river basin of Southeastern Europe, represents the home for 8.1 million people, covers approx. 97,200 km2, extending into the territory of the 6 countries, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosna and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro and a small part of the northern Albania. Sava River Basin is a vital source of water for its people, ecosystems, and economies, an integral part and prerequisite for the sustainable socio-economic development for all riparian countries and the whole region.
With an outstanding biological and landscape diversity, from its source in Alpine mountains on the west to its confluence with the Danube River, on the south border of Panonian Plain in Belgrade, on the east, the Sava River Basin hosts large complex of alluvial wetlands (Posavina - Central Sava Basin), lowland forest, national parks (Triglav, Plitvice, Risnjak, Sutjeska, Kozara, Una, Tara, Durmitor and Biogradska Gora), Ramsar sites (Lonjsko Polje, Bardača, Crna Mlaka, Peštersko Polje, Obedska bara, Zasavica and Cerniško lake) and other areas of protected habitat and species. The Sava River Basin in characterized with some of the floodplains still intact, supporting the flood alleviation and biodiversity.